Jenn’s Knee… Again.

Posted: September 8, 2008 in Life
AKA “Why Doctors are Useless Idiots!”
 
   Ah, the fun just never ends. One of the things that the doctors warned Jenn to be on the lookout for was if she started running a high fever. They said that it would be “really bad” if the her temperature was floating at 101 or above. So, of course, Jenn decides to start running a fever of over 101 Sunday morning.
 
   So we called the emergency number they gave us. They said that we would get a call from a doctor on duty in about thirty minutes.
 
And
we
waited
almost
forty
minutes.
 
   Jenn called again. They said we would get a call from a doctor on duty in about thirty minutes. We didn’t have to wait so long this time. However, by the time the conversation was over we were wondering why we even bothered.
 
   Jenn was told that the usual advice was to take an aspirin, but since her pain meds had Tylenol in them it wouldn’t do any good to take an aspirin. Their advice? Keep warm and call back if the fever got too much worse than its present 101.5 reading.
 
   Uhm… Yeah… Ok…
 
   Today she’s still floating around 101 and the leg still flairs up in really bad pain from time to time. We’re watching for any obvious signs of problems (swelling, red streaks, drainage, etc) with the area of the operation, but everything other than the fever and the pain seems normal. Hopefully things with her knee will be calming down a bit in the next 24 hours. I have to go back to work on Wednesday of this week and I really don’t need to be zonked out of my mind Wednesday night due to another ER trip unfortunately timed for around Tuesday night.
Comments
  1. Bill Mulligan says:

    Yikes! I hope this finds Jenn on the mend. I’ve had family members get knee surgery and it’s nothing to take lightly. Say, would she be interested in any movie entertainment–I’d be glad to share anything from my collection (Editors Note–Bill has no taste whatsoever and will watch pretty much anything. His “collection” would get him on medication in a more civilized society.)

  2. Bill Myers says:

    When we talked on the phone you mentioned the pain but not the fever. So now I’m worried, too.

    Jerry, take good care of Jenn.

    Jenn, I know this sucks but you’re a fighter. I’ll send good thoughts your way. Wish I could do more.

  3. Micha says:

    Wow, Jenn, Jerry. I wish I had any useful advice to offer. I don’t.

    It sounds pretty bad, I hope it gets better.

    Where is the doctor who warned you about he fever? Maybe he’ll feel more urgency to do something.

    Well, no point in saying get well, it’s not your choice really. But be careful. I know you have a tolerance for pain, but like I tell my grandmother, you shouldn’t tolerate it too much.

    Let’s hope the fever breaks.

  4. jjchandler says:

    Jenn’s fever has gone down in the last 12 hours so that’s not a high point of concern. Right now the thing that’s hurting Jenn the most is another issue that, once Jenn wakes up and reads the draft, might be explained in detail in my next thread if she so allows it.

  5. Jay says:

    Hope Jenn is doing better now. And I’m really sorry to hear about Nakota.

    Be seeing you.

Leave a Reply

