Ok, I have no idea…

Posted: April 19, 2008 in Life

Can someone please tell me where than” came from? No, not the word itself; I wanna know where my usage of it came from. I was looking through my rough drafts and notes from the last two months and noticed that I’ve been writing/typing the word “than” in certain places.

“This is greater than that.”

“I felt that it was less dangerous than our other options.”

I have no idea where that came from. I remember back in the second or third grade (early 70s) when we still had the usage comparisons for “then” VS “than” in English class, but then it all but disappeared from all of my later courses and school text books. I don’t even think that it’s considered improper English anymore to just use “then” all of the time. But somewhere in the last few months I’ve started using “than” where appropriate and I have no idea why that just started happening on its own like that.

So, where did the than” come from?

Comments
  1. Bill Myers says:

    @Jerry: “I don’t even think that it’s considered improper English anymore to just use ‘then’ all of the time.”

    Actually, it is indeed still considered improper to use “then” in place of “than.”

  2. jjchandler says:

    Well, they just gave up on teaching it then. I never saw it used or spoken of in school after the 5th grade and most people tell me a talk funny since, while the written form popping up again is new, I do tend to say it clearly as “than” when speaking.

  3. Sean says:

    As far as spoken thens and thans, depending on where you’re living, sometimes they DO sound the same. But, considering I live in the home of “shtreets” and “spewoons”, and I also pronounce it “sam’ich” occasionally, who am I to talk?

Leave a Reply

