It’s That Time of Year Again….

Posted: January 1, 2008 in Holidays
 Well, here we go again. What resolutions can I come up with this year that I might actually not forget ten seconds after I’ve made them? There’s gotta be at least a few…

1) Gotta get back in shape. I’ve really let that slide in the last year with everything (Jenn’s problematic pregnancy, Ian’s early birth, several deaths, etc) and I have to do something about it. Beyond just feeling better in general, we’ll be putting together a new tactical team later this summer and I have to be in shape if I want to make the rather small (10 to 15 officers) cut.

2) I’ve gotta start making more time to see friends and family. Several of the last few deaths in my circle of friends and family were younger people who passed way too soon. The worst part of their passing was that I could have seen them on a number of occasions before their deaths, but “life” got in the way. Way too many excuses popped up that were rationalized with “there’s always tomorrow.” Well, there isn’t always tomorrow. I explained it a little better here (http://cid-bae89762d49536d7.spaces.live.com/) and I don’t really want to write about that experience again this soon.

3) I’ve gotta get my focus back. I’ve been kind of distracted lately and not really thinking about where I’m actually at. Not really a problem most of the time, but not the best thing for a cop to be letting happen while on the job.

4) Work on my blog and work on my writing. Both serve (sort of) the same ends and both will help me out in the long run.

5) On top of all of that, I have to spend more time with my wife and child. And it has to be more quality time then just quantity. I’ve been trying to do that this month, but I’m not sure that I’ve been giving them everything they deserve. I might never be able to actually do that, but I can at least try.

Oh, and just for the hell of it…

6) I have to get my butt down to the Carolinas and die at the bloody hands (and teeth) of a zombie.

So… What’s everyone else looking to do?

Comments
  1. Kimberly says:

    Would like to have my friends come for dinner. have play pen for Ian. need help with those New years resolutions let the friends know and we will help. If you ever need help just yell we will hear you.

  2. genus says:

    new years resolutions are for the weak of mind and heart. if your ‘resolution’ is what you really want, it would already be in process. to use the excuss of the new year is just an excuse for failure.

    if you are the type of person that habitually makes these ‘resolutions’, then failure is an accustomed option in your life.

    i am not a friend of failure. just loss. i do not fail, but have lost many times. i do not wait for the new year to remind me of this fact. i just try to be true to myself every moment of my life.

    that’s my resolution. like it, hate it, just be true to yourself. don’t let the pc world tell you any different.

    genus

  3. Sean says:

    I have several resolutions, the first two of which I make every year–quit drinking and quit smoking. Since I never started doing either, those two at least are easy to keep.

    I also want to finish both my screenplays. Writer’s strike or not, these stories have been in my head too damn long.

    I need to get a new job, and I need to lose more weight, but I’ve been working on both of them with differing degrees of success, so those aren’t resolutions. I DO need to get a new car, though, so that’s one. Count me in on the Death By Zombie thing, or at least editing someone’s Death By Zombie.

  4. Bill Myers says:

    I don’t want to go into too much detail, as I’m saving some of this for my own blog. But I want to…

    1. Publish my comic-book
    2. Lose 70 lbs.
    3. Publish my comic-book
    and
    4. Publish my comic-book

Leave a Reply

